The Institute currently employs a full-time Director and a part-time Development Officer, and receives administrative support from Tyndale House.


Rev Dr Craig Bartholomew (from 1 September 2017)

He can be contacted at or on 01223 566620


Genevieve Wedgbury - Development Officer

Genevieve joined the staff in October 2016. She has a background in theology, the arts and business.

She can be contacted at or on 01223 566622.


Former academic staff

Dr. Jonathan Chaplin - Director from 2006-2017.  

Dr Joshua Hordern - Associate Director 2010-2012

Joshua Hordern was appointed as the first KLICE Associate Director in September 2010. He was responsible for administering and developing the Public Leadership Programme and engaging in research, publication and teaching. Joshua was a KLICE doctoral award-holder from 2007-9. He completed a PhD in political theology at the University of Edinburgh under the supervision of Professor Oliver O'Donovan after which he was awarded a Junior Research Fellowship from 2009-2012 at Wolfson College, Cambridge. He was also an Affiliated Lecturer in Christian Ethics at the Cambridge Divinity Faculty 2011-2012. Joshua took the position of University Lecturer in Christian Ethics, and Fellow of Harris Manchester College, Oxford in October 2012.

Rev Dr Andrew Goddard - Associate Director 2012-2015  

Andrew Goddard was the Associate Director of the Kirby Laing Institute for Christian Ethics between October 2012 and March 2015. He stepped down from the role due to ill-health and remains an Honorary Research Fellow. He is currently researching and writing a book on marriage and sexual ethics.

Before becoming Associate Director, he served on the Advisory Council of KLICE and taught Christian Ethics at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford (where he was a member of the Theology Faculty of Oxford University) and then at Trinity College, Bristol. More...



    Jonathan Chaplin (Director)

    Genevieve Wedgbury
    (Development Officer)

    Colin Bell (Administrator)

Advisory Council


Honorary Research Fellows

    Rev Dr Andrew Goddard

    Prof Oliver O'Donovan

    Prof John Wyatt

    Tom Miller


Research Associates